First Test, India vs Bangladesh at Zohur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chittagong, 2010

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

India vs Bangladesh Cricket Test Series, 2010

First Test, India vs Bangladesh at Zohur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chittagong
January 17-21, 2010

India Bangladesh

Chittagong Test, 5th day: India defeat Bangladesh by 113 runs (BAN-IND: 0-1|2)

India on Thursday won the first Test against Bangladesh at the Zohur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium by 113 runs. Chasing an improbable 414 runs for victory, Bangladesh were bowled out for 301. Bowlers Amit Mishra (4-92) and Ishant Sharma (3-48) shared seven wickets. The only consolation for Bangladesh was an entertaining 101 by wicket-keeper Mushfiqur Rahim. The second and final Test starts in Dhaka on Sunday.
1st Test, Chittagong, 5th day: India 243 (Tendulkar 105, Sehwag 52, Shakib 5-62, Shahadat 5-71) and 413/8 decl (Gambhir 116, Laxman 69, Mishra 50) beat Bangladesh 242 (Mahmudullah 69, Zaheer 3-54, Mishra 3-66) and 301 (Mushfiqur 101, Tamim 52, Mishra 4-92, Ishant 3-48) by 113 runs

Chittagong Test, 4th day: Gambhir's ton puts India in total command

Gautam Gambhir became the fourth batsman to hit centuries in five tests in a row as he put India firmly in control of the first test against Bangladesh.
Gambhir joined Don Bradman, Jacques Kallis and Mohammad Yousuf when he made 116 off 129 balls as India declared on 413/8. The Indian record was held by Rahul Dravid, who hit four centuries in four straight Tests.
Amit Mishra hit his maiden Test fifty (50) and Vangipurappu Laxman added 69 not out, enabling India to post an imposing target of 415 for Bangladesh.Bangladesh were reduced to 67 for two at the close of play, with pacemen Zaheer Khan and Ishant Sharma taking one wicket apiece. Tamim Iqbal (23) and Mohammad Ashraful (16) were the not-out batsmen when stumps were drawn.
1st Test, Chittagong, 4th day: Bangladesh 242 and 67/2 need another 348 runs to beat India 243 and 413/8 decl (Gambhir 116, Laxman 69*, Mishra 50)

Chittagong Test, 3rd day: India take control in Bangladesh Test

Mohammad Mahmudullah (63 not out) hit a maiden half-century and added 108 for the seventh wicket with Mushfiqur Rahim (44) to help the hosts recover from 98-6. Bangladesh were all out for 242 - one run less than India's first innings total.
Zaheer Khan (3/54) and Amit Mishra (3/66) were the main wicket-takers, while Ishant Sharma finished with 2 for 47 and S Sreesanth with 2 for 55.India finished the day on 122 for the loss of Sehwag's wicket in their second innings. Sehwag (45) and Gautam Gambhir (47 not out) gave the team a solid start, putting on 90 runs for the first wicket. Nightwatchman Amit Mishra is unbeaten on 24 off 21 balls.
1st Test, Chittagong, 3rd day: India 243 and 122/1 (Gambhir 47*, Sehwag 45) lead Bangladesh 242 (Mahmudullah 69, Mushfiqur 44, Zaheer 3-54) by 123 runs

Chittagong Test, 2nd day: Tendulkar gets 44th ton, Bad light force early stumps

Sachin Tendulkar's 44th Test century (105*), helped India to reach a first-innings total of 243 as the tourists struggled against the inspired form of Bangladesh attack duo Shahadat Hossain and Shakib Al Hasan, who each completed five-wicket hauls. Bangladesh came out to bat for 4 overs before the lunch break and stamped their authority on the game even further racing to 21. All the runs flowing off Tamim Iqbal's blade.
However, the last three overs before what turned out to be the close of play yielded a wicket each. Yesterday, starting from the 15th over, India lost three wickets for six runs, today, Bangladesh lost three for five.
1st Test, Chittagong, 2nd day: Bangladesh 59/3 (Zaheer 2-32, Ishant 1-14) trail India 243 (Tendulkar 105*, Sehwag 52, Shakib 5-62, Shahadat 5-71) by 184 runs

Chittagong Test, 1st day: 'Ordinary' Bangladesh reduce India to 213 for 8

Sachin Tendulkar (77*), playing his 266th innings in Test cricket - most by any batsman, hit his 55th Test half-century, and also became the first to cross 13,000 runs in Tests, saved the day for India after Shahadat Hossain (4/51) and Shakib Al Hasan (4/52) mowed down the top and middle order for Bangladesh in the first cricket Test in Chittagong. Captain Sehwag had earlier derided the hosts as an ordinary side, questioning their ability to take 20 wickets.The Indians got off to a flying start, with an opening partnership of 79 runs in just 15 overs from Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir (23), before losing six wickets in the post-lunch session.In 162 Tests, Tendulkar has scored at an average of 54.72 with 43 centuries. In 440 ODIs, Tendulkar has amassed 17,394 runs with 45 tons and 93 half-centuries. He is the highest scorer in both Tests and ODIs.
1st Test, Chittagong, 1st day: India 213 for 8 (Tendulkar 76*, Sehwag 52, Shakib 4-52, Shahadat 4-51) v Bangladesh

Dhoni to miss first Test against Bangladesh

Mahendra Singh Dhoni has again been ruled out of a Test match because of back spasms, and Virender Sehwag will be leading the newly crowned number one test team. Sehwag, meanwhile, angered the hosts by terming the tigers as an “ordinary side” adding they do not have the bowling power to take 20 Indian Test wickets. India's batting has been reinforced with the return of veterans Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid and Venkatsai Laxman. In reply, Bangladesh skipper Shakib Al Hasan said that his team is capable of giving a good fight. He added, "India have been ranked number one only recently. I think South Africa and Australia are much better than them."
Match starts at 9 am IST. Bangladesh: Shakib Al Hasan (Captain), Mushfiqur Rahim, Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Junaid Siddique, Mohammad Ashraful, Raqibul Hossain, Mohammad Mahmudullah, Shahriar Nafees, Shahadat Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Enamul Hossain, Mahbubul Alam, Shafiul Islam. India: Virender Sehwag (Captain), Gautam Gambhir, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Venkatsai Laxman, Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Shanthakumaran Sreesanth, Amit Mishra, Pragyan Ojha, Ishant Sharma, Murali Vijay, Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper), Sudeep Tyagi.

India vs Bangladesh Test Series 2010

India Bangladesh

India vs Bangladesh Test Series in Bangladesh, January 2010

India vs Bangladesh 2-Test Series

India will play two tests against Bangladesh after the completion of the tri-nation one-day international series featuring Sri Lanka in January, 2010.
Two-Test Series Schedule:
Jan 17-21 2010: 1st Test, Bangladesh vs India at Zohur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong - Match starts at 03:30 GMT/09:00 IST
Jan 24-28 2010: 2nd Test, Bangladesh vs India at Shere Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka - Match starts at 03:30 GMT/09:00 IST

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.