Bangladesh India Cricket News

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Bangladesh vs India - Second ODI

December 26, 2004
Toss: Bangladesh won the toss and elected to bat.
Bangabandhu Stadium, Dhaka
Umpires: A F M Akhtaruddin, Aleem Dar
Result: Bangladesh won by 15 runs

One day International Report

India Cricket LiveIndia Cricket Live Bangladesh recorded one of the biggest upsets in one-day international history on Sunday, beating India by 15 runs in the second match of a three-game series. The hosts, who had won just five times in 99 previous one-dayers, were restricted to 229 for nine after opting to bat first, but completed a shock victory when they dismissed India for 214 in 47.5 overs. Bangladesh bowled and fielded with resolve to keep India under pressure, and levelled the series at 1-1 going into Monday's final match in Dhaka in front of a sellout home crowd. Sridharan Sriram top-scored for India with 57, putting on 63 runs for the fourth wicket with Mohammad Kaif (49) to revive the innings after early setbacks. Rajin Saleh, who was outstanding in the field, ran out Kaif with a direct hit in the 41st over as India slipped to 170 for seven. Although Joginder Sharma, with a 22-ball 29 not out, and Zaheer Khan (10) raised India's hopes with a ninth-wicket stand of 32, Bangladesh removed the last two wickets to end a run of 15 consecutive losses to test teams. Teenager Aftab Ahmed top-scored with 67 in a mature knock for the home team while tail-ender Mashrafe Mortaza contributed a brisk 31 to guide Bangladesh to their modest total. It was Bangladesh's maiden victory at home. In Pictures: Left Paceman Mashrafe Mortaza scored a quick unbeaten 31 and then bowled the dangerous Virender Sehwag in the first over to claim 2-36 to be the man-of-the-match. Right Murali Kartik runout by Mohammad Ashraful. Bangladesh's first victory at home and first against India.

India Bangladesh ODI Result

India Cricket Live Won: Bangladesh by 15 runsMohammad Kaif and Sriram tried to salvage some pride for India, Sririam slamming a patient 57 from 91 balls (including two reverse sweeps that crossed the fence). But was stumped for 57 and then Kaif departed (run out) after making an excellent 50 from 56 balls. Joginder Sharma, tried to win it alone for India with an enterprising 29 from 22 balls but at the end of the day Bangladesh were deserving winners for fighting all the was while India paid the price for complacency. In Picture: Mashrafe Mortaza, who contributed a valuable unbeaten 31 and also returned bowling figures of 2 for 36, has been awarded the Man of the Match.
Bangladesh Innings
Nafis Iqbal c M S Dhoni b A B Agarkar
22 1 0
Mohammad Rafique lbw b Z Khan
2 0 0
Habibul Bashar b A B Agarkar
21 3 0
Mohammad Ashraful c and b M Kartik
41 1 2
Aftab Ahmed b M Kartik
98 5 1
Rajin Saleh run out
10 0 0
Khaled Mashud c Joginder Sharma b S Sriram
24 2 0
Khaled Mahmud run out
38 2 0
Mashrafe Mortaza not out
39 3 1
Tapash Baisya b Z Khan
13 2 0
Nazmul Hossain not out
2 0 0
10nb 6w 4lb 20
Total for 9 229

A B Agarkar 9.0 1 31 2
Z Khan 8.0 1 53 2
Joginder Sharma 10.0 1 51 0
M Kartik 10.0 0 43 2
S Sriram 10.0 1 37 1
D Mongia 3.0 0 10 0
Fall of wicket
1 Mohammad Rafique
26 Nafis Iqbal
37 Habibul Bashar
81 Mohammad Ashraful
88 Rajin Saleh
132 Khaled Mashud
168 Aftab Ahmed
187 Khaled Mahmud
226 Tapash Baisya

Live Cricket
India Innings
V Sehwag b Mashrafe Mortaza
3 0 0
S C Ganguly c Mashrafe Mortaza b Khaled Mahmud
42 3 0
Yuvraj Singh c Rajin Saleh b Tapash Baisya
8 1 0
S Sriram st Khaled Mashud b Mohammad Rafique
91 7 0
M Kaif run out
56 5 0
D Mongia lbw b Tapash Baisya
18 0 0
M S Dhoni c Habibul Bashar b Mashrafe Mortaza
11 2 0
A B Agarkar c Aftab Ahmed b Mohammad Rafique
15 1 0
Joginder Sharma not out
22 4 0
Z Khan c Mashrafe Mortaza b Khaled Mahmud
14 1 0
M Kartik run out
6 0 0
3w 4lb 7
Total all out 214

Mashrafe Mortaza 9.0 2 36 2
Tapash Baisya 10.0 2 35 2
Nazmul Hossain 7.0 0 26 0
Khaled Mahmud 9.5 0 40 2
Mohammad Rafique 10.0 0 57 2
Aftab Ahmed 2.0 0 16 0
Fall of wicket
0 V Sehwag
5 Yuvraj Singh
51 S C Ganguly
114 S Sriram
131 D Mongia
155 M S Dhoni
170 M Kaif
172 A B Agarkar
204 Z Khan
214 M Kartik

Back to top

Indian Team

India Cricket Live India have decided to rest Sachin Tendulkar , Irfan Pathan and Harbhajan Singh for the second one-day international match against Bangladesh at the Bangabandhu National Stadium in Dhaka tomorrow. The trio will make way for Virender Shewag and Zaheer Khan , who sat out of the first match in Chittagong on Thursday, while Murali Kartik will get to play his first game on the tour as he comes in for Harbhajan. Captain Sourav Ganguly said Dinesh Mongia would also find a place in the eleven for the day-night encounter although a final decision was yet to be made. Indian Team: From - Sourav Ganguly (Captain), Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag , Surraj Singh, Mohammad Kaif, Mahendra Dhoni, Harbhajan Singh, Irfan Pathan, Ajit Agarkar, Zaheer Khan, Murali Karthik, Joginder Sharma, Dinesh Mongia and Sridharan Sriram. Final XI - S Sriram, V Sehwag, S C Ganguly, D Mongia, Yuvraj Singh, M Kaif, M S Dhoni, Z Khan, M Kartik, Joginder Sharma, A B Agarkar In Picture: Indian pacers Ajit Agarkar and Zaheer Khan return to the Sonargaon Hotel, where the team is staying during their tour of Bangladesh, after doing some Christmas-eve shopping.

Bangladesh Team

India Cricket Live Bashar said today after practice that if they could keep improving match by match, they would start their winning stint in one-day matches. He hinted that Mashrafee Bin Mortaza, the countrys best pacer might return in place of Mushfiqur Rahman, who performed poorly in batting in the first ODI in Chittagong. The skipper of Bangladesh also said that Javed Omar, the opener could replace Rajin Saleh. Bangla Team: From - Habibul Bashar (Captain), Khaled Mashud, Nafees Iqbal, Javed OMar, Mohammd Ashraful, Khaled Mahmud, Aftab Ahmed, Mohammad Rafique, Tapash Baisya Mashrafee Bin Mortaza, Manjarul Islam, Nazmul Hossain, Rajin Saleh, Mushfiqur Rahman. Final XI - Nafis Iqbal, Habibul Bashar, Mohammad Ashraful, Aftab Ahmed, Khaled Mashud, Mashrafe Mortaza, Khaled Mahmud, Nazmul Hossain, Mohammad Rafique, Tapash Baisya, Rajin Saleh In Picture: Bangladesh captain Habibul Bashar practises his trademark pull shot during the final net session ahead of the Tigers' 100th ODI against India at the Bangabandhu National Stadium today.

The Venue

India Cricket Live Having hosted Pakistan's first ever home Test match, in 1955 when it was called the Dacca Stadium and Bangladesh was still part of Pakistan, the Bangabandhu stadium was also the venue of Bangladesh's inaugural Test match after they became the 10th nation to be awarded Test status. Named after the father of the nation, Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, the stadium in Dhaka has been a regular venue for one-day internationals in the past couple of years and is widely recognised as the home of cricket in Bangladesh. Located in the north of the main city, the Bangbandhu National Stadium has had floodlights since 1998 and is now capable of holding a capacity of 36,000 spectators.

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.